Governor-elect Beshear Announces Cabinet Members

Kentucky Governor-elect Andy Beshear introduced some familiar faces and some state government newcomers who will serve in his administration during a Friday news conference at the State Capitol.

Governor-elect Beshear announced that La Tasha Buckner will serve as Chief of Staff, with Holly McCoy-Johnson to serve as Secretary of the Finance and Administration Cabinet. He also announced that retired Kentucky Derby Festival President and CEO Mike Berry will serve as Secretary of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, with John Hicks to serve as State Budget Director. Former State Senator Dorsey Ridley will serve as Director of Legislative Services for the Office of Governor. Tom Miller will serve as Commissioner of the Department of Revenue. And Susan Rieber will serve as Chief of Staff for Lt. Governor Jaquelyn Coleman.

Governor-elect Beshear reiterated that his administration will set a different tone.


Beshear added he is hoping for a smooth transition with Governor Bevin during the next few days.


Following the news conference, Governor Beshear met with some of his transition team members about transportation issues. Among those attending the meeting were transition team member and former 8th District State Representative Jeff Taylor and Transportation Cabinet Secretary Jim Gray.