City Council To Consider CDBG Budget And Arts Grant

Hopkinsville City Council will consider the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) budget and a National Endowment for the Arts grant after action by the Committee of the Whole at Thursday night’s meeting.

The Community Development Block Grant budget for the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 municipal order line item shows the total at $270,574. That amount includes CDBG Program Administration Costs at $54,114, Walnut Street Boys and Girls Club Public Service Funding at $40,586, Rehabilitation Programs around $78,591, and the Section 108 Loan (debt service) of approximately $97,282.

Community and Development Services Director Tom Britton said the budget total is $270,574, which is $10,000 less than last year’s budget.

click to download audioThe Committee of the Whole voted 9-0 to forward the CDBG budget to the city council for consideration. Council members Alethea West, Kim McCarley, and Tom Johnson were absent from the meeting.

Community and Development Services Executive Director Tom Britton

In other new business, the committee unanimously approved the National Endowment for the Arts “Grants for Arts Projects” after Britton explained it would require a 50-50 match of $75,000 from the city for murals in downtown.

click to download audioIn unfinished business, Mayor Wendell Lynch gave an update on the Governor Edward Breathitt sculpture project to be erected in front of the Christian County Courthouse. He said on April 3 the public campaign was launched by Breathitt’s family and the steering committee which raised approximately $30,000. To date, he added, approximately $120,000 has been raised toward the total cost of $170,000.

Mayor Lynch said he has talked with County-Judge Executive Steve Tribble and the fiscal court will be taking action on this next week. He then recommended the city donate up to $12,500.

click to download audioFirst and second motions were made to forward the mayor’s recommendation to the city council for consideration but the motion failed to pass by a 3-6 vote, with Chuck Crabtree, Amy Craig, Travis Martin, Terry Parker, Steven Keel, and Jason Bell voting against the contribution.